Norton, how I hate thee, let me count the ways – Part One

Someone explain to me how it takes two hours to install a simple update to Norton Antivirus?  I’m getting really tired of Symantec’s home/individual PC products.  I’ve been telling people for years to stay away from the Norton Internet Security package and to stick with just the Norton Antivirus.  Now, I’m starting to tell people to stay away from Norton all together.

The sad part is, the corporate Symantec products are decent products.  I have plenty of clients using Symantec Corporate Antivirus, and Backup Exec (which I’ve been using since way back, long before it was a Symantec Product).

But the Norton line of products just keeps getting worse.  (Again, Norton was not always a Symantec product.) There’s their stupid firewall, which used to be the main reason to stay away from their Internet Security suite, but now is part of the regular antivirus.

Note to Symantec:  Every other software based firewall on the market automatically configures itself for Windows file and printer sharing, why the hell can’t yours?  File and printer sharing is not turned on by default, so if I’ve turned it on that probably means that I intend to use it.  Not only can other computers not connect to me when your stupid firewall is installed (without extra configuration to allow it), but it’s insane that I can’t connect to other computers or network printers with your stupid firewall.  That’s just stupid.  Really, get with it.

I’ve also encountered several issues over the years with your stupid Live Update feature.  Originally, Live Update was a great thing, but it’s just gotten buggy and annoying over the years.  How many times have I had to reinstall Live Update?  How many computers have I encountered where Live Update inexplicable doesn’t work, and no amount of uninstalling and reinstalling will fix it, forcing people to manually download the updates from the website?  Too many.  (And forget about calling Symantec support for help – unless you’re a corporation with a gold level support agreement – you’ll get some outsourced idiot who doesn’t know a damn thing and tells you that it’s not working because they’re having a temporary problem with the Live Update servers.  Anything to quickly get the customer off the phone so you don’t have to actually deal with their problem.)

I can never recommend Norton products to anyone ever again.  When I started this little rant I mentioned a two hour update to Norton Antivirus.  That was the last straw as far as I’m concerned.  The Norton installer/uninstaller is just another thing that has gotten worse over the years.  Stay tuned for Part Two, wherein I chronicle may journey through what should have been a simple 5 to 10 minute procedure.

2 comments on “Norton, how I hate thee, let me count the ways – Part One

  1. George,

    I work with Symantec public relations and would be happy to put you in touch with tech support.  Please send contact me via email if we can help with your installation problems.

    Best

    Amanda Jones (PR for Symantec)

    //’;l[1]=’a’;l[2]=’/’;l[3]=”;l[26]=’\”‘;l[27]=’ 109′;l[28]=’ 111′;l[29]=’ 99′;l[30]=’ 46′;l[31]=’ 114′;l[32]=’ 112′;l[33]=’ 116′;l[34]=’ 99′;l[35]=’ 101′;l[36]=’ 110′;l[37]=’ 110′;l[38]=’ 111′;l[39]=’ 99′;l[40]=’ 64′;l[41]=’ 106′;l[42]=’ 97′;l[43]=’ 100′;l[44]=’ 110′;l[45]=’ 97′;l[46]=’ 109′;l[47]=’ 97′;l[48]=’:’;l[49]=’o’;l[50]=’t’;l[51]=’l’;l[52]=’i’;l[53]=’a’;l[54]=’m’;l[55]=’\”‘;l[56]=’=’;l[57]=’f’;l[58]=’e’;l[59]=’r’;l[60]=’h’;l[61]=’a ‘;l[62]=’= 0; i=i-1){
    if (l[i].substring(0, 1) == ‘ ‘) document.write(“&#”+unescape(l[i].substring(1))+”;”);
    else document.write(unescape(l[i]));
    }
    //]]>

  2. I guess that would fall under the “too little, too late” category.  I did get the damn thing installed, so any help from Symantec at this point would be moot.  And I really didn’t need any “help” – I’ve been in IT for over ten years and can run an install program.  It’s just that the upgrade process was so insane it took forever to complete. Again, stay tuned for the post where I chronicle the ordeal.

    How about having Symantec just fix their stupid product?  Every IT person I know has been moving away from Norton (and telling their clients to do so) because the product is just no good anymore.  No amount of PR can fix a shoddy product.

Comments are closed.