Funniest show on TV

Last night I managed to catch an episode of Flight of the Conchords on HBO.  I had seen these guys’ musical stand-up act before on Comedy Central, which I thought was funny.  Plus, cultural bellwether Lin Brehmer mentioned it in high regards on his morning show, so I decided to check it out.

If you haven’t already caught on to this show, check it out – you won’t be sorry.  (If you don’t have HBO, maybe the episodes will show up on-line somewhere.  Otherwise, I don’t know what to tell you!) This has got to be the funniest show on TV right now; I laughed so hard I was practically in tears.  I immediately went into the “OnDemand” feature on our cable to watch the first two episodes (which I had missed, as a late-comer).

I don’t even know how to describe the show in a way that would do it justice.  You just have to see it for yourself.  Basically, it’s about these two guys from New Zealand who are trying to make it in New York as a band.  They have an ineffectual band manager (who holds band meetings in his office at some New Zealand tourism bureau) and a single, obsessive fan.  Through the course of the show it occasionally morphs into a kind of musical, where the plot turns into a cheesy music video.

Again, describing it does not do it justice.  Trust me, and go check it out for yourself.

