Last Comic

There wasn’t much on TV last night, and although I should have been practicing my guitar, or going through the vacation photos to start posting them to Flickr, I was feeling lazy.  I landed on Last Comic Standing.  I’m normally not into reality shows, but I happen to really like stand up comedy.  Since, at this point, they were down to the last three comedians, I figured that they would be the “best of the best”.  This turned out to be not so true.

As an aside, the highlight of the first show was last year’s winner, Josh Blue.  He was freakin’ hysterical.  I wanted to see more of him.

But, out of the remaining three comedians for this year, only one was funny at all:  Jon Reep.  I sincerely hope he wins.

There were two shows, back-to-back, and in the second they narrowed it down to the two remaining comics.  Jon was one of the final two, but the other one I couldn’t believe.  In fact, I couldn’t believe he had made it to the final three after seeing his act.

People, Lavell Crawford is not funny at all.  Seriously, I didn’t laugh once during any of his routines.  What’s worse, none of his jokes are even remotely original.  All of his material was old jokes.  He did a rectal exam joke where the punch line was that the doctor should have taken him out to dinner and a movie.  Seriously?  Unbelievable.  He did a joke about hockey being a white man’s sport because it’s a bunch of white guys chasing a black puck.  Are you freakin’ kidding me?! Let’s not even talk about the “fat black man ordering fried chicken” joke.

How is a comedian with no original material even on this show, let alone one of the two finalists?  I don’t have much faith in humanity as it is, but if Jon Reep doesn’t win this thing I’ll be totally blown away.

