Modern Technology

Some things were just better before computers came along.  Some things just didn’t need to have computers added to them in the first place.

A couple of months ago, our coffee maker started acting strange.  It’s supposed to shut itself off three hours after it finishes brewing the coffee.  Seemingly a decent feature, if you forget to turn it off, it’ll turn itself off.  What it started doing, however, was shut itself off immediately after the coffee finished brewing.  Very annoying.  After quite some time of putting up with this, I finally unplugged the thing, let it set a few minutes, plugged it back in and reset the time.  It worked fine after that.

Let me sum up that last paragraph:  I had to reboot the coffee maker to get it working properly again.

I never had to reboot my old coffee maker (which I had for well over ten years).  It was very simple: put in the coffee, put in the water, turn it on.  Our new coffee maker has features I will never use.  Ever.

A few nights ago I stopped by the grocery store and picked up a pizza.  (They have really good, fresh, hand made pizzas ready to be taken home and put in the oven.) When I got home, I set the pizza on the counter and turned on the oven to let it pre-heat.  I left the room and sat down in front of the TV for a while.  After about 15-20 minutes, I returned to the kitchen to put the pizza into, what I was expecting to be, the pre-heated and ready oven.  However, when I got to the kitchen the oven wasn’t on, and it showed “F1” on the display.

The oven was displaying an error code.  I could not believe it.  The oven was actually displaying an error code.  Un-freaking-believable.

I hit the “Stop/Clear” button and preceded to reset the desired temperature.  Luckily, it worked fine after that, because I really dread the day when I have to call tech support to get my oven to work.

