Coffee Stout

I thought I’d give a little update on the coffee stout that I mentioned previously.  As I said, it really didn’t turn out the way I thought.  Or, at least, that’s what I thought.

I decided to let it age in the bottle for a while before giving up on it.  I tasted some this weekend, and it’s starting to taste pretty damn good!  The flavors are starting to mellow and balance out.  In particular, the coffee flavor isn’t as overly prominent as it was on first tasting.  I’m actually surprised at how good it’s starting to taste.  I think in another couple of weeks it will really be a top-notch beer.

Also, I managed to pick up a bottle of the Lagunitas Cappuccino Stout that the recipe was based off of, and what I ended up with really isn’t that far off from the original.

It just goes to show that, in brewing at least, sometimes patience really is a virtue.  From my own experience, learning to be patient is one of the hardest parts of learning to brew.  You’ve got this beer sitting there that you’re dying to try, and it’s really hard to wait until it’s properly aged before dipping in.  To help make my point, a recent Basic Instructions dealt with the issue of patience pertaining to beer.  (On a side note, beer really would be a good thing to study in science class, as the third panel suggests.)

On the other hand, it is good to taste along the way to learn how the aging affects the beer.  I usually taste the beer during bottling to get an idea of where it’s at, then again after it’s been in the bottle for two weeks.  This coffee stout has been a good learning experience for me in seeing how some beers get better with a little aging.

By chitowngeorge Posted in Beer

One comment on “Coffee Stout

  1. When I was in high school, I took a microbiology class, mainly for fun.  The teacher was a homebrewer and would talk about going to New Orleans to a place called Cooter Brown’s and grabbing yeast from some of the beer there, growing it and using it in his own beer.  He said the people would look at him and his buddies like they were from the Department of Health.  Anyway, he dedicated a couple classes to going over the microbiology involved with brewing beer.

    I work at Providence College and I know one of the classes here brewed some beer as part of the class.

Comments are closed.