My New Obsession

I have a new (musical) obsession.  I found these guys through Call it Karma’s (former) percussionist, Jeremy (thanks, Jer):

Tea Leaf Green

They’ve been around for a while, but they’re just starting to get some recognition on the jam scene.  (Or, maybe I’m a little behind the scene – hell, I didn’t discover Phish until ‘94, so what do I know?)

Anyways, I downloaded a bunch of their shows from the Internet Archive*, and eventually bought all of their studio albums from Amazon.com’s MP3 store.  Needless to say, I’m really enjoying their music.

I could go on and on about what I like about these guys, but I’m not a rock critic, and not very eloquent.  I just urge you to at least check out their music.  (Especially if you’re into “jam bands” – but you don’t need to be to enjoy good song writing and solid musicianship.  Seriously, if you’re not into jam bands don’t be scared off by that label.)


* If you’re not familiar with the Archive, go check it out.  It full of public domain media – everything from books, old movies and TV shows, and old recordings to modern recordings that have been cleared “free to trade” or are otherwise in the public domain.

By chitowngeorge Posted in Music

5 comments on “My New Obsession

  1. Yeah.  He got offered a job out in San Francisco that’s too good for him to pass up.  So, it looks like we need to shuffle around the lineup again.

  2. I have never seen them, mainly because I missed the tour, but Trey did a solo tour with Tea Leaf Green opening a while back (one of his solo tours around the Phish breakup).  I think they won best new jamband or something at the Jammies or best song for “Taught to be Proud”.  I picked up that album and loved it.  I need to grab some of their other albums, but I prefer CD for the better sound quality.

  3. Was that the 70 Volt Parade tour?  When we saw Trey on that tour (in Chicago) he had Matisyahu opening (which was still pretty cool).

  4. I don’t remember which tour it was.  I think it was the one before that.  It might’ve been with the 10 piece band.  I saw him with Matisyahu as well, who is just awesome.

Comments are closed.