Bad News, Everyone

One of my favorite places in Chicago, Goose Island (the Clybourn location) is closing at the end of the year.  It seems they lost their lease.

It’s too bad.  The Clybourn location is so much better than the Wrigleyville one (even if you don’t take into consideration having to deal with Wrigley Field being only a block away).  I really hope they open a new location that’s on par with the current one at Clybourn.  I just can’t see myself going to the Wrigleyville location all that often, particularly if it’s a “game day”.

What’s really ironic is that that whole area owes everything to Goose Island being there.  I’m sure the area will thrive without Goose Island now, but G.I. used to be the only thing there.  That area would not be what it is today if it wasn’t for Goose Island.

The article (more of a blurb really) doesn’t go into the details, but I hope it is something that can be resolved before the year’s end.  (They’ve updated the article since I initially posted.)  It looks like the issue is money.  Hopefully the landlord (CRM Properties Group) will come to their senses and negotiate with Goose Island.  (Or, like I said, they open up a new location.  Hey, the Edgewater neighborhood is drastically lacking in brew-pubs!)

By chitowngeorge Posted in Beer, News