American Beer

Thanks to the growth in micro-breweries and craft brewing, the rest of the world is starting to notice that American beer doesn’t suck anymore.  Okay, those beers still suck, but there’s now more to American beer than those beers.

Is American Beer Any Good?


On a side note:  It’s mentioned in passing, but I’m glad that I’m not the only one who’s not into the recent trend of “super hoppy” beers:

But the super-hoppy beer trend has its detractors, even among some American brewers. “Can you imagine a chef saying, ‘This is the saltiest stew you’ve ever tried, and you’re not a real man if you don’t like it?’ That’s what some of these breweries are doing,” says Garrett Oliver, brewmaster of the Brooklyn Brewery in New York.

Don’t get me wrong, I like hoppy beers.  But too much is too much.  It seems in the past few years there’s been a race to the bottom to see who can make the hoppiest beer.

Some speculate that the recent hop shortage will put an end to this trend as brewers find other ways to experiment with their recipes.  One can only hope.

By chitowngeorge Posted in Beer

3 comments on “American Beer

  1. I’m a hophead.  I love hops.  That being said, I don’t see the point in being in the IBU race.  It’s not worth it.  The hops shortage will most definitely cause brewers to re-think this hops war.  They can’t afford it anymore.  Even Stone, known for their hoppy beers, seems to be making their 12th anniversary beer an oatmeal stout (which I can’t wait to get my hands on).

    All that being said, I have to say that the US is probably the most inventive brewing nation right now with all the great stuff we’re putting out and all the style bending we’re doing.

  2. I’ve actually gained a greater appreciation for hoppy beers since I’ve started home brewing.  When I first started brewing, I thought the hop pellets smelled awful.  Now, I love that smell!  (My wife still hates the smell, though.)

    Some hoppy beers that I wouldn’t have liked in the past I like now.  But, I really can’t get into some of these Imperial IPAs and Double IPAs.  I’ve tried some that I like, but most of them are just too much!

  3. Not being sure what Imperial/Double IPA’s you’ve tried, but give Great Divide Hercules a try.  It’s pretty well balanced and excellent, in my opinion (though again, I am a hophead).  My fiancee doesn’t mind 90 Minute because it’s a bit sweeter than most, and 120 Minute is a beer in a class of its own (at 21% and no noticeable hops flavor, it’s more like a barleywine).

    Hops seem to be an acquired taste.  I’m sure you’ll grow to appreciate hoppier beers more and more.

Comments are closed.