How to Purchase Tickets – Part Two

Read Part One first, if you haven’t already.

So, to top off everything else, they over billed me.  I logged onto my banking website today and discovered two charges from Live Nation, each for the full amount of the tickets I purchased.  Ugh.

There was an 800 number listed on the charges, so I called that number.  I was greeted by a voice saying “Thank you for calling Live Nation ticketing.  Please have your order number or credit card ready so that we may assist you.  An agent will be with you shortly.”  Then I heard the sound of hold music.  I sat on hold for nearly 45 minutes, listening to the same six Elvis Presley songs*, in a loop, over and over again.

After being on hold for so long (while still on hold, I wasn’t ready to give up just yet) I went to their website to see if I could find a different 800 number.  No such luck.  In fact, one of their FAQs said that they didn’t operate a call center!  Just who was I waiting on to pick up the call then?  (I did eventually find the same 800 number I was already on hold with buried in a different FAQ.)

They did a have contact form to fill out, so I gave up on the phone call and composed a polite message detailing the over billing, and all of the other problems I experienced while trying to purchase the tickets in the first place.  I asked that they reverse the extra charge and to also refund their “convenience” fees for all of my problems.  We’ll see how they respond.  It bothers me, though, that there’s no real way to follow up on that message, since I know calling their 800 number is a pointless exercise.

 

* The songs were “Jailhouse Rock”, “Don’t be Cruel”, “All Shook Up”, “Hard Headed Woman”, “Return to Sender”, and “In the Ghetto”. I think that could be considered torture in some countries!

5 comments on “How to Purchase Tickets – Part Two

  1. Were they actual posted charges or were they still pending charges?  I’ve ordered tickets and had them over-charge and then when it actually posted to my account, it was correct.

    Keep us updated though.  If they actually refund the “convenience” charge, that’d be awesome.

  2. Actually, I saw the charges “pending” yesterday.  I figured it might just be a fluke, and that I’d wait to see whether they both go through or not.  I decided to check again today, and sure enough, both went through.

  3. Pingback: Shut Out « Chitown George

  4. Pingback: Concert Tickets – Part Four « Chitown George

  5. Pingback: How (not) to Purchase Tickets – Part Three « Chitown George

Comments are closed.