Belgian Ale

Last weekend I brewed a Belgian Ale.  This is the first belgian I’ve tried, but I’ve been doing a lot of kits lately, so I wanted to do something a little more challenging/interesting.  I put together the recipe based on a combination of a couple of different recipes in the BYO 150 Classic Clone Recipes special issue.  I then substituted based on my whims at the time and what the homebrew store had in stock.

Here’s the recipe:

Belgian Ale

1/2 lb. Munton’s Extra Light DME

6.6 lbs. Munton’s Light LME – late addition

1 lb. Corn sugar

2 lbs. Belgian Pilsen

1 lb. Belgian Pale

2 tsp. Caradamon @ 15 min.

2 tsp. Bitter orange peel @ 15 min.

2 tsp. Coriander @ 15 min.

2 oz Willamette 4.9% @ 60 min.

1 oz Czech Saaz 3.6% @ 2 min.

1 tsp. yeast nutrient @ 15 min.

Wyeast 1214 Belgian Ale Yeast

Heat 1.5 gallon of water to 150º and add crushed grains.  Let steep for 45 minutes.  Rinse grains with 1 gallon of 170º water.  Add 1/2 gallon of water to bring to 3 gallons.  Add DME and sugar, bring to a boil.  Add LME with about 20 minutes left (you may need to crank up the heat to keep your boil going while adding the LME).  Add hops and spices according to schedule.

By chitowngeorge Posted in Beer

One comment on “Belgian Ale

  1. Pingback: Weiss and Belgian « Chitown George

Comments are closed.