Chrome

I’m sure most of you have heard of Google’s new web browser Chrome by now.  When I first hear the news, I thought “Does the world really need another web browser?”  Then I checked out their introductory comic (which actually gets fairly technical, but is still readable to non-geeks), and I was intrigued by much of the ideas and technology behind it.  So, I went and downloaded it.

So far, so good.  I’ve been using it all day and haven’t needed to switch to Firefox yet.  I think this may quickly become my default browser.  It’s fast.  It renders pages better looking than either IE or Firefox (like Safari it’s based on Webkit – but sadly no support for CSS text shadows).

One of my favorite things is that it has built-in site specific browser functionality.  (Only they call it “application shortcut”.)  I’ve been looking for a decent Windows SSB for a while to use for the web based help desk system we have at work.  Nothing that I found really lived up to the challenge.  Until now.  A decent Windows SSB, who would have thought?  (It makes perfect sense though, given Google’s focus on web apps.)

If you’re on a Windows machine, it’s definitely worth checking out.  I can’t wait to see how it matures in the coming months (it’s only beta right now, but aren’t most of Google’s offerings still “beta”?).  I also can’t wait to try the Mac version.

