Bad Apple

Every once in a while, Apple does something completely perplexing.  Some software (or hardware) configuration that does nothing but piss off its users.  The most recent thing is forcing Genres and links to the iTunes store while browsing, and getting rid of the preferences to turn them off.  Fortunately, the Apple user base is pretty smart and was quick to come up with a solution.

But why would Apple do this?  I can’t fathom a reason to force people to view genres when browsing their music.  Does any one even use Genres?  I know that in my library the genre assignments are pretty haphazard.  If I’m importing music to my library I usually don’t bother assigning genres.  Most of the music I buy online, whether it’s from iTunes or Amazon, the genres make no sense or are too generic (e.g. “Rock” – gee thanks, that helps).

I’m sure there are people out there who are fastidious with their genre assignments, and that’s great if that’s how they organize their music.  But, I’m guessing (especially with the amount of complaints about this) that it is a small number of people.

And the links to the Apple store?  People complained so much about that the first time Apple did it that they had to add the preference to turn it off.  Why in the world would they go back on that now?  This has got to be some kind of oversight, and hopefully will be fixed in the next update.

In the mean time, if you haven’t already found this info elsewhere, here’s how to fix it:

If you’re on a Mac, open the terminal and type (or copy-paste) the following commands (one at a time):


defaults write com.apple.iTunes show-store-arrow-links -bool FALSE

defaults write com.apple.itunes show-genre-when-browsing -bool FALSE


If you’re on Windows, follow the directions on this blog.  I can’t verify that info until I get to work on Monday, but a quick read through makes me believe it’s accurate.

2 comments on “Bad Apple

  1. While I don’t use iTunes anymore (the Windows version sucks and the Mac is for work, so I don’t put any music on it), I have never cared about anything other than the artist and title of the songs when editing the tags.  Sometimes the album, but unless I get the whole album, it doesn’t really matter to me.

    Speaking of the new iTunes, have you tried the genius playlists?  I’m curious how well it works.

  2. I haven’t tried it yet.  You have to initiate the feature, which analyzes your entire library.  Since I have a really huge library on an older iMac, the process was taking forever, so I just cancelled it.  I’ll kick it off at some point if I remember at a time when I’m going to be away from my computer for a while.

Comments are closed.