Sad and Pathetic

So, Microsoft is already axing the Seinfeld/Gates ads (which, as previously noted, I actually liked) and replacing them with a John Hodgman look-alike who says “Hello, I’m a PC, and I’ve been made into a stereotype.”

What is wrong with Microsoft’s marketing?  Okay, maybe the Seinfled/Gates thing wasn’t connecting with people the way they thought it would.  But, seriously, do you really want advertising that just points out how effective the Apple campaign has been?  A campaign that casts you as being second to Apple?  (As Gruber points out, the “Burger King to Apple’s McDonald’s”.)

It’s just sad and pathetic, really.



UPDATE:

I looks like the Seinfeld/Gates spots might not be canceled after all.  (Thanks to Jim.)

2 comments on “Sad and Pathetic

  1. They’re not cancelling them.  It was a rumor that was proven false (http://gizmodo.com/5051682/microsoft-ads-featuring-bill-gates-and-jerry-seinfeld-not-canceled).

    I think their new ad idea is pretty smart.  While they’re accepting that the Apple ads were successful, they’re also countering them with ads that show that not just geeky looking people in suits use MS products.  I think they should do something similar to the HP ads, which I found to be really good.

  2. Thanks for pointing that out.  Although, I still think MS acknowledging the Apple ad campaign makes them look weak in comparison (kind of an “I know you are, but what am I” thing).  Of course, I’ll have to see the actual ad before passing final judgment.

    I agree that those HP ads are pretty cool (although, it kind of bothers me that they use that Tim Burton/Nightmare Before Christmas font in their ads).

Comments are closed.