What I’ve Been Drinking Lately

It’s been nearly a month since the last beer-related post, so I thought I’d just quickly share some of the beers I’ve been enjoying lately.

First, I’ve got some Goose Island Mild Winter in the fridge.  Since this is (apparently) a seasonal offering, I want to get my fill while it’s around.  I’ve mentioned it before, but it bears repeating, if Goose Island is available in your area and you see the Mild Winter, pick it up.

Also, we’ve gone to Goose Island (Clybourn) a couple times in the past few weeks.  Right now, they have both the Naughty Goose and the Extremely Naughty Goose on tap.  The Naughty Goose is a rich brown ale that’s a little hoppier (but not too much) than you might expect from a brown.  The Extremely Naughty is what you might consider an “Imperial” version of the Naughty Goose.  They’re both excellent beers (but stick with the regular Naughty if you’re driving!).

They also have the Rye Stout currently on tap.  As the name suggests, it’s a hearty stout brewed with Rye malt.  If you’re a stout lover, like me, this is definitely one to try.

Over the weekend I stopped by Sam’s Wine and picked up a couple of four packs of the new Sam Adams Imperial series.  I got the Imperial Stout (naturally) and the Double Bock.  I wasn’t all that impressed with the Double Bock at first, but it’s growing on me.  After I tried the first bottle I thought I probably wouldn’t buy this one again, but after having it again last night I’ve changed my mind.  I’m not sure how to explain it, but it seems to take a few tastings to start appreciating the subtleness and complexity of the flavors.

The Imperial Stout, on the other hand, only takes one taste to rope you in.  This is a rich, sweet beer with complex chocolate and coffee flavors.  I’m definitely going to have to pick up some more of this one!

I also have a bottle of the Sam Adams Chocolate Bock waiting for me.

Apart from that, I’ve been drinking my own Home Brew.  I hate to toot my own horn, but the Oatmeal Stout is truly one of the best oatmeal stouts I’ve had.  I’m really happy with it, and impressed with myself that I brewed a beer that’s that good.  (The Chocolate Oatmeal Stout still needs a little time in the bottle to mellow a bit.)

By chitowngeorge Posted in Beer