iPhone 3.0

Well, Apple just finished their big iPhone 3.0 announcement.  As a recent iPhone owner, I’m pretty excited; there are a few features that I’m particularly interested in.  Overall, everything that people were expecting and/or asking for, Apple delivered on (and then some).

Some highlights:

  • In-app purchasing system for magazine subscriptions, ebooks, game levels/add-ons, etc.
  • Peer-to-Peer connectivity using Bluetooth and Bonjour (but not WI-FI).
  • Accessories – apps can talk directly to devices connected via dock connector (this should yield some interesting products).
  • Maps – Google maps can be embedded in other apps.
  • Apps can use Core Location (Turn by turn GPS!).
  • Push Notifications.
  • Bunch of new APIs open (ones that were previously only available to jail-breakers), like audio recording (Yay!) & streaming video (Hulu, anyone?).
  • Copy & Paste (Will everyone please STFU now!?  You knew this was coming, they just had to get it right first!).
  • Landscape in all key applications!  (Yay!  No more struggling to type in Mail!)
  • MMS – Big whoop.  I know people have been asking for this, but I could care less.  I have email, why do I need MMS?
  • Voice Memos – I can see myself using this all the time (I always think of melodies and other song ideas and end up forgetting them later).
  • Search in all key apps, plus Spotlight – very cool.

There were also some 3rd application demonstrations to show off programs using the new APIs/features.  Most notably, Meebo – a cross service IM client, and ESPN – which showed off streaming video.  I’m not much of a sports fan (and when I say “not much of a”, I mean “in no way whatsoever”), but I think the ESPN app shows the potential for Hulu and other video-on-demand apps for the iPhone.

We’ll have to wait until this summer to get our hands on this (unless you’re part of the developer program, in which case you can get the beta now).  I, for one, can’t wait.  And, I can’t wait to see what great apps developers come up with between now and then.

