Last Year’s Model

I guess some people need encouragement to not constantly upgrade to the newest model.  Hence, the new online geek movement, Last Year’s Model.

Great idea.  I’ve been doing it for years.  If you’re a regular reader, you know that I just replaced my desk lamp style 17” iMac with a new iMac (and the printer, which was much older than the computer).  My car is going on seven years old, has nearly 120,000 miles on it (I used to drive a lot for my last job), and is still running strong.  Last year I replaced my iPod Mini (the original iPod Mini, mind you) with a refurbished iPod Classic.  And recently I replaced my aging Sony Ericsson phone with an iPhone (again, refurbished).

The 5.1 surround sound receiver in my living room is probably close to ten years old.  The other (stereo) receiver in our house is much older than that (it’s Carrie’s stereo she had in college).  I’ve yet to replace our 2nd TV, the 25” tube one, with a flat screen (I might do that later this year).

In short, I tend to hang on to things until they wear out.  I could list stuff all day, but I won’t bore you.  There are exceptions, of course.  Like replacing the DVD/SACD player that was only a few years old with a Blu-Ray player.  (Although, I shouldn’t say “replaced”, as I still have it, since the Blu-Ray player doesn’t support SACD.)

The movement is about “being green”, but I’ve never thought of it that way.  I’ve just never liked being wasteful, and I like to get my money’s worth out of things.

So, how about it?  What old technology (or other products) do you still have (or had for a really long time).

