So Long, and Thanks for All the Pie Charts

As you may or may not have heard, Mint.com is being bought by Intuit.  Oh, well.  It was good while it lasted.

I gave up on using Intuit products years ago, but I’ve still had to support their lousy software for clients (until my current job).  I’m not at all looking forward to what they’re going to do to Mint.  Mint was by no means perfect, but it had tons of potential, and was certainly better than anything Intuit had to offer.  Now, they’ll never get a chance to achieve the greatness that the site might have become.

Everything I’ve read online about this news has been complete dissapointment.  It seems no one thinks Intuit will do anything other than completely ruin Mint.  (See Consumerist.com for some fine examples.)

I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt, but I am not optimistic.  As Blueoysterjoe put it (if you follow the previous link):

“What, Intuit will buy Mint and suddenly have great ideas about how to run a personal finance website? No. Intuit will apply its crappy ideas to Mint and turn Mint into crap.”

That pretty much sums up what I’m expecting to happen.  Then, once they turn it to crap, they’ll start charging for it.  No thanks.

