Fences

I hate having my computer desktop cluttered with icons.  The more stuff you keep on the desktop, the more unorganized it all becomes.  But, the desktop is a convenient place to keep things that you frequently access, projects you’re currently working on, and things you just haven’t filed away yet.  This puts me in a daily dilemma, both at work and at home.

Well, Stardock has a solution to this problem (for Windows, anyway): Fences.

This is easily one of the coolest, and most functional, GUI add-ons to Windows I have ever seen or used.  Basically, it’s a desktop icon manager that makes it easy to organize your desktop and optionally hide the icons until you need them (no clutter!).  Why didn’t anyone think of this sooner?  If you have a bunch of icons all over your desktop, and you are running Vista or Windows 7, you need to go install this right away.  Seriously, do it now, I’ll wait.

See?  What did I tell you?

Someone needs to create the equivalent of this for OS X now.  If I had any programming abilities what-so-ever I would go home and spend my entire weekend working on a Mac version of this.

By chitowngeorge Posted in News, Tech

One comment on “Fences

Comments are closed.