Unexpected

Some days just hit you out of nowhere.  This morning I got an email informing me that CDBaby.com sent me a payment.

Wait.  What?

After Call it Karma dis-banded I left our CDs up for sale on CDBaby*, but it’s been forever since we sold anything.  July of 2008, to be exact.

Needless to say, I was a little surprised that we sold two copies of “Days Go By” last week.  What’s even more surprising is that the purchaser was a music wholesaler in Irvine, CA that specializes in vinyl, indy and import music.  I’m still trying to wrap my head around that.

*I ended the digital distribution (through iTunes and whatnot), because I didn’t want to have to keep track of sales of the cover songs for royalty purposes.

2 comments on “Unexpected

  1. I’m guessing that it might be some Suzanne Vega or Grateful Dead completist who ordered a copy through their local record shop. It’s not uncommon with a special order for a shop to order two copies, one for the orderer and one for the shelves.

  2. That’s entirely possible.  It just really hit me out of nowhere, checking my email this morning, before I’ve even finished my coffee.

    Also, is it me, or is it a little weird to see “Suzanne Vega” and “Grateful Dead” in the same sentence?

Comments are closed.