Interview With Bill Watterson

A very rare interview with the creator of “Calvin and Hobbes”:

Interview with Bill Watterson

I particularly like this quote, about people grieving about the ending of the strip:

It’s always better to leave the party early. If I had rolled along with the strip’s popularity and repeated myself for another five, 10 or 20 years, the people now “grieving” for “Calvin and Hobbes” would be wishing me dead and cursing newspapers for running tedious, ancient strips like mine instead of acquiring fresher, livelier talent. And I’d be agreeing with them.

I couldn’t agree more.  I pains me that upcoming, talented cartoonists can’t get any traction because print newspapers continue to fill their funny pages with worthless dreck like “Cathy”, “Marmaduke”, and “Beetle Bailey”, and other increasingly irrelevant cartoons that should have quit a long, long time ago.

Now, excuse me while I break out my copy of The Complete Calvin and Hobbes and get nostalgic for a little while.

