Gomez and One Eskimo @ The Vic

Last night I went to see Gomez, with opening act One Eskimo, at The Vic. I thought I’d write up a little review.

(Pre-review: Lin Brehmer was pretty funny introducing Gomez. I know he’s a huge fan, and was probably the perfect person to have do the intro.)

First, the opening act, One Eskimo. I’m not at all familiar with their music, apart from the one song XRT has been playing. (In fact, I didn’t really know the song was them until they played it.) I have to say, they were really good. Their set was a little “arty”, as they had an animated film (which I guess you can download with the album on iTunes) displayed behind them as they played. It certainly added something to the music, but I think they would have been just as good to see without it. I’ll definitely be checking their album out.

Now, as far as Gomez goes, I’ll admit up front that I’m not a “fan”, in the sense that I really only know the music that’s been played on the radio (which I like). I’d heard that they were supposed to be really good live, so when I was invited to go (thanks, Paul) I didn’t hesitate.

Having said that, I didn’t know what to expect from their live show. I was surprised. I knew it would be at least enjoyable, but they completely surpassed any expectations I might have had. It took a while for them to get into their groove, and it seems their playing got better and more intense as the night progressed. This added a natural upward curve, building the set as it went.

Many of their songs seemed to follow that pattern, starting out a bit unassuming, then building into all out “rockers”, with even a little bit of jamming thrown in. If you were unfamiliar with their music going in (as I was), the songs seemed to go to places you wouldn’t naturally expect them to. That’s a good thing.

All in all, it was a great night, and I was highly impressed with both bands. I’ll definitely go see Gomez again the next time they come through town. I highly recommend checking them out if you get the chance.


On a side note: The crowd at this show was older than I expected. I thought it would be a twenty-something crowd, but the majority of the audience seemed to be in their 30’s and 40’s.

