Anheuser-Busch InBev to take over Goose Island

Not the news I wanted on what’s already a pretty crappy Monday morning:

A-B Acquires Goose Island
Anheuser-Busch to take over Goose Island

I’m not really sure what to make of this, though. This could actually be a good thing. I know Goose Island has been struggling to meet demand, and that looks like the driving factor in this decision. And, A-B sees the value in the higher-end beer market. As long as they don’t mess with how things are done, it may be okay.

The articles state that John Hall will be staying on as CEO and overseeing production, so that’s a good sign. But, Brewmaster Greg Hall is stepping down, so that’s potentially a bad sign.

Even though initially dismayed by this news, I’m going to try to take a “wait and see” approach to this. I’ll continue going to the brewpub, and I’ll continue buying their beers off the shelf. I’m not going to just stop patronizing Goose Island on “principle”, or anything like that.

But, if they start messing with the recipes, or start using cheaper ingredients, or there is any noticeable decline in quality, there are plenty of other craft brew establishments in Chicago I can take my business.

One comment on “Anheuser-Busch InBev to take over Goose Island

  1. Pingback: More on the Goose Island Deal « Chitown George

Comments are closed.